What everyone should know about the No-fly list

On March 14, 2016, in Blog, by Karina Popa

A very important part of aviation security, which prohibits known terrorists from boarding an aircraft, is known as the “no-fly” list. TSA, federal partners, intelligence communities and law enforcement agencies have joined hands to gather information and place it in a single list to keep the people of America, airline passengers as well as the transportation system away from harm.

The committed TSA staff can assess and update the No-Fly list to ensure that each candidate conforms to the standards. This will be the basis for the latest records to be included in the system, and will considerably improve the quality of the data.

The 9/11 Commission, the Intelligence Reform as well as the 2004 Terrorism Prevention Act ordered that TSA do what is needed to take on the watch list requirements that match from the airlines through the Secure Flight plan. The most recent matching is considered more reliable and efficient for travelers and thus, improves customer as well as security services. The goal of the Secure Flight plan is to:

  • Find suspected terrorists and allow them to go through carefull inspection;
  • Make travelling easier for legal passengers; and
  • Protect the civil rights and privacy of passengers

TSA can assure that the proper privacy securities are embedded in the Secure Flight plan and your personal details are kept secure and only shared with the right individuals. This includes the protection of personal details, as well as the completion of Privacy Impact Assessment. This means that only basic information is required to keep up travel security.

How to Remove Your Name from the No-fly List

The US government does not reveal how an individual has been added on the No-Fly List or how to remove his name from the No-Fly list. When passengers are not permitted to board an airlines or when their boarding was deferred because of security reasons, they can proceed to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to change their status by completing an application to the DHS Traveler Redress Inquiry Program (DHS Trip).

Ways to Find Out if You Are Included In the No-Fly List

If your name is part of the list or some other US government security related database, you may have encountered the following:

  • You go through a second screening whenever you go through airport security checkpoint.
  • Your boarding pass was rejected.
  • An airplane ticket agent told you that your name is included in the federal government watch list.
  • You were held for questioning.
  • Before you received your boarding pass, an airline ticket agent got your ID then called someone else.
  • You missed a flight when getting your boarding pass.
  • You always go to another screening when entering US and clearing customs.
  • You are denied entry to US.